Author Topic: Is it common to renegotiate the sales price after inspection of an as-is sale?  (Read 6342 times)

spartana

• Bristles
  • FIREd at 36
« Last Edit: June 27, 2018, 02:05:47 AM by spartana »

ixtap

• Magnum Stache
    • Our Sea Story
My agent says no but still thinks I should consider accepting new much lower price so I can have fast all-cash sale. I said no. Waiting reply from buyer...will they walk or accept or raise offer. I don't need to sell house asap or even at all and have a pretty low limit I would accept if needed, but would rather keep to current price to see if I get more offers. So is this a common thing on an as-is sale or a ploy? I'm a newbie at selling so don't really know.

Background: live in hot market area where tear downs and rehabs are common so selling 60 year old 1000 sf ranch as-is rather than upgrading and fixing things - some big like needing new roof. I priced it accordingly and  fully disclosed everything I knew was wrong with the place beside obviously original 1950s stuff like cabinets, tile, etc... Got an offer fast and accepted contingent on inspections. Done with nothing showing up that was not disclosed but "potential unknowns" due to age (what will they find when redoing roof etc...). Buyer wants to renegotiate lower price or will walk. I said no.

In and of itself, it isn't that uncommon in many markets. However, if nothing new came up on the inspection, they are just being arses.

tralfamadorian

• Handlebar Stache
Yeah that's kind of what I thought too. Maybe "ploy" isn't the right word but feels sort of planned - like giving a full offer to lock me in with the intent of knocking the price down a lot and hoping I'd just accept it since it would be a fast close.

I agree that it was probably planned.  I've talked to real estate investors, all flippers, that do this as a tactic and a house advertised "as-is" would attract those kinds of folks.