Author Topic: Investing in a 8 (or more)-Plex  (Read 980 times)

ReadySetMillionaire

• Handlebar Stache
Investing in a 8 (or more)-Plex
« on: August 21, 2020, 09:28:51 AM »
I am new to this sub-forum and real estate investing in general, so I’m looking for some basics here.

I’ve been sitting on a pile of cash for months now, and a very good friend of mine approached me about investing 50-50 in an eight-Plex (or more). He is one of the most trustworthy and financially literate people I know. He also currently owns five single family rentals. I can’t imagine a better partner.

We are looking to do one, big purchase in maybe spring of next year. We would love a 12-Plex (which seem to be common around here).

We obviously want to get the broad strokes right (location, price) but I’m wondering what should we be looking for? How should we evaluate the property’s value? Is it silly to invest in one property?

I tried doing some research online but there wasn’t much about this.

Any thoughts or links would be great.

Michael in ABQ

• Magnum Stache
Re: Investing in a 8 (or more)-Plex
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2020, 09:44:12 AM »
That size property is going to require a fair amount of work relative to a single-family home. On the one hand it's small enough that you can handle it yourself, but on the other hand it's too small to justify a full-time manager or maintenance person. You can get some economies of scale with things like appliances or flooring. You can get a management company to handle leasing and phone calls about maintenance but that can eat up a significant amount of your profit if they're charging 6-10% of gross income.

I was a commercial real estate appraiser but only worked on a handful of apartments that small. Capitalization rates weren't all that applicable as it was difficult to get reliable income and expense information from competing properties since they often lacked any sort of professional management or accounting.