Author Topic: I'm getting my first HELOC on my primary. What to expect?  (Read 779 times)

clarkfan1979

• Magnum Stache
I'm getting my first HELOC on my primary. What to expect?
« on: November 14, 2020, 02:39:34 PM »
I'm currently refinancing my primary home from 4.125% to 2.875%, no cash-out. I decided to follow the advice of others and explore the idea of a HELOC. After we close on the re-fi in about 30 days, my mortgage broker will farm me out to a 3rd party for the HELOC. I have never done this before and have some basic questions.

1) What is a good interest rate for a HELOC right now? I know that they are mostly variable. I have a friend that got a HELOC about two years ago. He is 1.9% above prime. Prime is at 3.25% right now, so he can borrow money at 5.15%. Is this competitive?

2) If you borrow money at 5.15% and the interest rate goes up to 6.15% in 2 years, do you have to pay the money back at the current rate or the original rate when you pulled the money out?

3) How long does the process typically take. I think my mortgage broker was saying 2-3 weeks after the closing of the re-fi.

Anything else I should be aware of?

katsiki

• Handlebar Stache
Re: I'm getting my first HELOC on my primary. What to expect?
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2020, 03:13:04 PM »
I did a heloc with this CU years ago.  They are great.  You may want to consider them but you might also just check them out for a rate comparison.

https://www.hfcu.org/loans-and-credit-cards/home-equity.html#goto_6

The process as I recall was pretty quick, quicker than a mortgage refi.  It has been many years but I would guess 30-45 days max.

uniwelder

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2020, 03:38:37 PM »
I had replied to your other posting about using a heloc to replace your mortgage--- the big warning was the hit to your credit score if you max it out.  In regards to this posting---