Author Topic: How to start - minimal path to action?  (Read 2259 times)

S

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to start - minimal path to action?
« on: February 13, 2016, 01:07:42 PM »
Hi guys, I'm still learning about REI but want to build a plan to start towards a 2016 goal: cashflow $300/month on a buy&hold SFH or duplex.

My current plan is below (focus is on minimal action and minimal cost), with lots of bullet point questions:
1. LLC
    * good for asset protection?
    * which state? I assume the state I currently reside in (TX)
2. find banks willing to finance
    * big banks or in-house financing? I assume it doesn't matter for my first financing and I'll just pick the best one financially
3. somehow find a deal (I assume this takes the longest)
    * where to find deals? I assume the MLS, but then I need to become a certified agent. Otherwise I assume Zillow/Trulia?
    * how to analyze deals? I've read a bit on BiggerPockets, but only have a general idea. I can estimate property tax, but never needed to estimate replacements or insurance.
4. due diligence, purchase, rehab if needed
    * I know lots of due diligence articles I can read, but purchase and rehab should be straightforward. Am I wrong?
5. find renter
    * what are good advertising strategies? I assume Craigslist/Airbnb to start
    * background checks? I assume no to start, may do a quick interview and ask for 1 month deposit
    * what are payment options? I assume I can setup a business account that withdraws from the renter's account. Also accept cash/checks.
6. fix mistakes in previous cycle
    * are there professionals I needed? Get ability to quickly access some
    * are there costs I wrongly estimated? Good to know for the future
7. rinse and repeat