Author Topic: How to find deals for investment (NJ)  (Read 2018 times)

chrismoneymaker

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How to find deals for investment (NJ)
« on: July 29, 2013, 01:24:34 PM »
Hello all -

I'm new to real estate and am looking to add an investment property to the mix. This would be my first purchase, as I'm currently renting and would likely remain renting, using this property solely as an investment.

I have two concerns:

1- Being in NJ, taxes are high and deals are apparently hard to find. I was told once that if it's listed on the MLS, it will most likely not be a free cash flow property in the long run (at least in NJ).  If this is true, I'm assuming the only other way to do this is to look into foreclosures? Is there any way to view foreclosure listings without paying? 

2- I'm currently working/living in a place I don't necessarily see myself staying. Would purchasing real estate be a foolish move since I'm not 'settled' and don't know where I'll end up? Part of me says yes, the other half says as long as I'm making money and can manage the property, it shouldn't matter where it is.

Any thoughts or advice on where to start would be appreciated.  Thanks!

tooqk4u22

• Magnum Stache
Re: How to find deals for investment (NJ)
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2013, 01:36:04 PM »