Author Topic: How to Decide Whether to Take on a Flip  (Read 4976 times)

freeazabird

• Stubble
    • Bmore Bungalow
How to Decide Whether to Take on a Flip
« on: May 08, 2014, 05:24:46 PM »
What are some rules you follow when deciding whether to take on a flip? What percentage do you usually estimate in closing costs when you sell?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: How to Decide Whether to Take on a Flip
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2014, 09:37:02 PM »
Fairly standard flipping rule of thumb is 70% of the ARV (after repair value - i.e. market value once it's all fixed up), minus the repairs.

So if it'll sell for 200k after being repaired and needs 20k of repairs, you'll offer (200k * 0.7)-20k = 120k.

That 30% should cover your transactional costs, holding costs, and profit.

If you're short term financing (hard money), you may want to go a little more conservative and account for that.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

freeazabird

• Stubble
    • Bmore Bungalow
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2014, 11:34:20 PM »
Thanks!

Jules13

• Stubble
    • January Girl
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2014, 09:07:47 AM »
If you're short term financing (hard money)

What does that mean..."hard money"? 

Thanks, helpful equation.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2014, 10:16:40 AM »
If you're short term financing (hard money)

What does that mean..."hard money"? 

Thanks, helpful equation.

Short term loan, not from banks.  Typically 10-15% interest rate plus multiple points up front, and a very short term (6 mo to 1 year typical, 3 years max usually).  Credit doesn't matter, it's based on the property.