Author Topic: Help me convince my brother he's facepunching himself with an FHA loan  (Read 6096 times)

rageth

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I'm still new to mustachianism, but I'm going to be completing a year of it pretty soon and my new bride and I are getting our finances in order pretty well because of it.  My brother the accountant, on the other hand, I'm convinced is about to make a horrible decision.

Let's look at the numbers:
2 car payments (~$15k at 5% interest)
2 federal student loan payments ($100k at 3.5-6.8% interest)
1 wedding to pay for in June
3 pets that are prone to vet visits

And now he and his wife-to-be are looking at putting down 3.5% to get a 3.5-4% interest mortgage on a new house with an FHA loan to, as he said, "replace my $1000/month rent bill for a 2br apartment."

I've told him that with an FHA he would have almost no equity in the house for YEARS and that he would have to pay the expensive PMI for the life of the loan.

What else can I tell him about this to tell him that this is a facepunch moment?

brotatochip

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Help me convince my brother he's facepunching himself with an FHA loan
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2016, 06:30:41 AM »
You only pay PMI until you have 20% equity in the home, not the life of the loan

ShoulderThingThatGoesUp

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2016, 06:35:31 AM »
You only pay PMI until you have 20% equity in the home, not the life of the loan

I think this has changed.

Frankly that is nowhere near the worst decision he has going on - car payments at 5% interest are way more embarrassing. What will the effective interest rate be with PMI?

goosefraba1

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2016, 06:43:32 AM »

I think this has changed.

Frankly that is nowhere near the worst decision he has going on - car payments at 5% interest are way more embarrassing. What will the effective interest rate be with PMI?