Author Topic: Getting a HELOC for a Rental Property  (Read 1744 times)

ForeverLearning

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Getting a HELOC for a Rental Property
« on: December 07, 2016, 05:43:52 PM »
Hello All. I am new to the whole Financial Freedom world & going forward we are really trying not to make bad financial decisions. I wanted to come here to make sure we are not making a wrong decision or not looking at everything in regard to this HELOC. So here goes:

Primary Home Balance: $24,963.43 @ 3.0%  (our condo is worth $110k)
Bank HELOC: $87,000 @ 3.29% First Year, 4.02% after 1st Year-Variable APR

The representative said that part of the $87k would be used to pay off the Primary Mortgage. However, our original goal was to pay off our mortgage in 4 months & THEN get a HELOC to purchase our 1st Rental Property.

Please help us understand why we it would be good to get a HELOC NOW if the interest rate is higher than the original mortgage. Also, the first 3 months we would be paying $213/month toward interest & was told we could not pay any extra toward the principal for those first 3 months. That's really confusing because we are only paying $64/month in interest on our original mortgage.

Does this make sense to do just to get the $87k for our future rental? Of course, we know no one knows the future but it does look like interest rates could go up. So would that be the only benefit?

Also, do most people on this site prefer to just save up cash for a rental property or use a ladder investment? We are trying to read different sites on landlording to make sure we can handle this avenue of investment.

Please let us know if we are not thinking of something or not thinking of the end goal. Thank you all.

Jalapeno

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Getting a HELOC for a Rental Property
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2016, 04:28:43 AM »