Author Topic: Foreigner (UK based) looking for a US mortgage  (Read 3966 times)

FiPiper

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Foreigner (UK based) looking for a US mortgage
« on: June 19, 2017, 08:18:50 AM »
Hi

Newbie here, please be gentle:)

Long time lurker first time poster.  I've done some research, both on the wider internet and on this fine forum, on the question of an overseas person (that would be me), getting an investment mortgage for a US-based investment property (for a multi family unit worth $60,000 - $120,000 somewhere in the US mid-west). 

I am UK based, and the approx 30% deposit wouldn't be an issue, nor would any of the affordability metrics for the mortgage.   I can see from research the answer on this forum isn't generally positive, but said I'd ask again in case there were any more recent successes of people on this forum getting a mortgage from a US-based lender. 

Eg I came across americanmortgages.co.uk / internationalmortgages.net but they no longer seem to answer the phone or I cant see any reviews of them anywhere.

Thanks

$200k

• Stubble
Re: Foreigner (UK based) looking for a US mortgage
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2017, 10:38:17 AM »
Not to side track your original question, but have you thought about US estate tax consequences?  You'd be subject to a 40% hit without doing some structuring, i.e., an LLC, etc.  The LLC would take out the loan.  But, on a $60-120K property, the set-up and carrying costs will eat at your cash flow.

I'm not trying to be a downer, just make sure you consider cross-border tax issues.   

FiPiper

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2017, 11:28:27 AM »
Thanks 200k. 

Yep, am aware of some potential difficulties from the tax side of the house too - my partner is a tax professional so she is researching that at the moment.  However, without being able to get a reasonable mortgage rate, the investment may not make sense on those grounds either.

Kwill

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2017, 12:00:40 PM »