Author Topic: Foreign multi-unit as income stream?  (Read 1673 times)

leostrauss

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Foreign multi-unit as income stream?
« on: June 03, 2016, 11:31:52 AM »
I'm a resident of Canada and a dual citizen (Polish/Canadian) with some significant (undeployed) cash assets and thinking about plunging into a somewhat atypical investment project.

Here's the scoop: I'm in an incredibly fortunate situation that my parents gave me an empty lot in Warsaw (Poland) on which I can build whatever I want.

I don't want to move to Poland but I'm trying to retire early and I have two options regarding the lot:

1) either selling the lot (worth about PLN500K = 170K CDN) and adding to my cash reserves or

2) building a multi unit which my mom and sister would look after and I'd receive rental money from. The breakdown looks really attractive as the building could generate close to 10% yield on cash (I have enough money to build for cash) if fully rented.
This looks like a better yield on cash than investing in the stock market or buying leveraged REITs which don't even yield as much in monthly income. Obviously the "free" building lot really gooses up this yield but even if the lot had to be bought this yield seems mighty attractive to me and I'm being very conservative with rent prices.

Now, the lot is not in a perfect location as it's in the suburb of Warsaw called Wesoła ~15KM from City Center (Śródmieście) but I think it should rent fully as there are stores, schools, daycare centers, a church and even a swimming pool all within the walking distance of the lot.

The building would be in my name and I'd receive the gross rental and pay my family to maintain the building and collect the rent cheques. I fully trust my family to not cheat me out of a single dime.