Author Topic: First time landlord- maybe  (Read 7064 times)

teamzissou00

• Stubble
First time landlord- maybe
« on: June 04, 2013, 09:26:55 AM »
We have a two story home, 1600 sq ft in a fairly desirable neighborhood with great schools.  We have put some decent additions in the two years we have owned it (fancy tile floor in kitchen/entry/hall and new garage door).  We bought it for 193k and owe 174k and monthly all in pmt is $1250.

I'd love to have a good renter pay down my loan and watch the home's value grow as well.  I'd love to figure a way to pay it off in the next 17 years (when I turn 50) and have a pure income property.  I have zero experience in this.  Does it make financial sense?

I'd pay a property mgr, expect to pay for lawn care & trash & pest. 

I conservatively think we could rent for $1500/month. Minus $150(prop mgr) & utilities $200 that leaves me $1500- $350 = $1150 net income to pay my $1250 mortgage.  Is that correct?  My rent is possibly too conservative. 

How do I make this work?

meadpointofview

Re: First time landlord- maybe
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2013, 10:09:03 AM »
Yes it makes financial sense and my only two cents is think about doing the prop. management work yourself.  You can do it.  There are services to check credit and background, and I am sure you can figure out how to mow a lawn or paint the house (when needed).  Save that money and pay down the loan quicker or use it to pay down other debt.

Is the property in an HOA?

teamzissou00

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2013, 10:51:35 AM »
No HOA

I may move for work, so not interested in being a prop mgr

Is it OK to owe money each month?  I'm also going to be out of pocket on house maintenance

Kazimieras

• Stubble
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2013, 11:07:10 AM »