Author Topic: First-time condo buyer: do I need an agent?  (Read 7388 times)

Grigory

• Stubble
  • (rhymes with "story")
    • my attempt at blogging
First-time condo buyer: do I need an agent?
« on: March 08, 2016, 04:17:23 PM »
Subj, basically. :)

I'm getting tired of renting and I've very recently discovered that it is, in fact, possible to get a condo in Seattle for less than $150K. (I won't have to raid the 401k piggy bank for the downpayment - woot!) Basically, I just want to buy a simple, cheap, bachelor-style condo.

The problem is that I'm a complete real estate noob. I have the 20% needed for the downpayment and I've found some nice-looking properties on Trulia.com and such, so my main question is - do I need to get my own agent to help me with the process? The site I was just on has a sidebar with a list of their own agents that are just dying to get my business (see this screenshot). Would I be a complete idiot to just use one of their agents? Would they care at all about me as a buyer or do they just want to flip properties?

I'm eager to find a condo to call my own, but I have plenty of time, so that's not a factor. Should I hunt down the perfect buyer agent or just go with the fine folks from Trulia?

Thanks in advance! :)

onlykelsey

• Handlebar Stache
Re: First-time condo buyer: do I need an agent?
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2016, 04:23:19 PM »
I don't know which agent you should go with, but in my experience, many sellers will not deal with you if you don't have an agent.  It doesn't cost you anything, as a rule, so I'm not sure what your opposition is.  Do you prefer not to have someone involved for non-financial reasons?

Grigory

• Stubble
  • (rhymes with "story")
    • my attempt at blogging
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2016, 04:48:03 PM »