Author Topic: Finding a good place to become a landlord  (Read 8815 times)

MJP

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Finding a good place to become a landlord
« on: July 18, 2013, 05:02:24 PM »
I'm interested in the idea of owning a rental property and getting some steady income from it. As I start to learn more about the topic(I'm just starting out) the biggest factor to consider seems to the rent/purchase cost ratio. I've seen various ways people have of computing this, sometimes adding in an renovation/improvement costs, accounting for some vacancy, paying a PM company, etc. However, the end game of how to make money seems to be to find a property to buy cheap enough that the rent/buy ratio makes sense.

These ratios seem to be different for different types of properties(SFH/Apts/Condos/etc) as well as where they are located(rural/city/burbs/NSEW/etc). In order to try and get a lay of the land I'm thinking of doing some data collection and analysis to get some more information. What I would try to collect at a basic level is what a place is renting for and what it was purchased for. Right now my plan would be to grab a bunch(1000s) of these examples from all across the country and see if I can find some patterns of certain areas or types of properties where the ratios are good.

Before I start fiddling around on my own I thought I'd reach out to this community to see if anyone knows of any resources out there that already accomplish this. It would be great to take a look at what data has already been gathered. Also, what do folks think about this idea in general, would it even help? Let me know what you think or what related resources you know of that may help.

Thanks

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Finding a good place to become a landlord
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2013, 05:05:20 PM »
Sounds like a good business idea.