Author Topic: Evaluate my plans  (Read 3273 times)

FireDAD

• Stubble
  • firedad.blog
    • FireDAD Blog
Evaluate my plans
« on: March 19, 2015, 09:06:14 AM »
Hello again everyone!

I am moving to Estes Park CO from Iowa in 3 weeks. The property I am looking at is 2 buildings, one cottage and one duplex. The duplex is a 2 bedroom 1 bath 850 sqft and a 1 bedroom 1 bath 600 sqft. Both have separate entrances, parking, kitchens, etc. The cottage is right next door and my plan is to put some money into them and get them setup as vacation properties on sites such as Airbnb.com. I have never used the site before but from a little research I believe it is exactly what I am looking for. The goal would be, short term rental income and the ability to block off dates when friends/family come to visit and give them a place to stay that has privacy.
I am moving to Estes and will be working  from home which makes the upkeep on a vacation rental possible.
I am just looking for any advice related to Airbnb or short term vacation rentals. I have had rental property for the past 5 years but it has always been to long term leases.

Thanks for the input. All advice is welcome.

Wile E. Coyote

• Bristles
Re: Evaluate my plans
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2015, 09:09:26 AM »
I don't have any experience with Airbnb so I can't help, but I do love Estes Park.  If you do this, I may need to rent from you!😄

FireDAD

• Stubble
  • firedad.blog
    • FireDAD Blog
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2015, 09:10:32 AM »
I am committing right now to a MMM discount!

waltworks

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2015, 09:46:37 AM »
Estes is a tourist town, so you will need to pay hotel taxes for AirBnB, most likely. Some places the city won't check or notice, but Estes probably will.

Check with the city about the legality of what you're doing and fee/taxes/licenses needed NOW, rather than getting fined/stuck with huge back hotel taxes in a few years.