Author Topic: Electronic locks?  (Read 830 times)

Archipelago

• Pencil Stache
Electronic locks?
« on: February 27, 2021, 12:19:05 PM »
I'm thinking of swapping over all my doors to Kwikset electronic locks. $40-50/piece at wholesale rates. It would be 20 lock sets so $800-$1000. Double that if I pay someone to install. I want to try DIY but I'm not too experienced with installing new deadbolts. That's the tricky part.

1 code that just the tenant knows
1 code that you know
1 code to let in maintenance people which can be changed periodically

Is it worthwhile?

PMJL34

• Pencil Stache
Re: Electronic locks?
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2021, 12:58:57 PM »
OP,

That's a lot of locks and deadbolts! They are great to have, but I don't see how it would benefit you enough as the owner considering the cost. 

Archipelago

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2021, 02:42:02 PM »
OP,

That's a lot of locks and deadbolts! They are great to have, but I don't see how it would benefit you enough as the owner considering the cost.

Not having to deal with lost keys anymore, tenants locked out, or coordinating keys for maintenance. Added security with deadbolts and lack of replicable keys. No need to change locks ever again.

Fresh Bread

• Magnum Stache
  • Insert dough/bread/crust joke
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2021, 04:13:56 PM »
We have an electronic lock on our front door. It's quite temperamental, like if the door moves a bit, if it's v hot or wet, then it might not open. Also it takes batteries and when they run low it stops opening. We have an unlocked side gate and rarely lock our other doors anyway (Australia) but if we relied on it (or had gone through with our plan to put our place on Airbnb) we'd have changed it by now. On the storage room and garage (where anything of value is kept) we have the mechanical locks where you punch in numbers. I much prefer these, they always work, but they do look a bit uglier.

So for a rental, I'd stick with regular keys.