Author Topic: Eggs in One Basket  (Read 5009 times)

yddeyma

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Eggs in One Basket
« on: October 18, 2014, 04:41:23 PM »
I am very new to the rental game.  I finally got fed up with my day job and, with a partner, invested in two rental properties about four months ago.  They're going well.  Both houses I purchased are in the same neighborhood, cost about $50k and gross about $1k/month.  The neighborhood is the cheapest, lowest working/middle-class neighborhood in town that we felt was still safe.  Anything cheaper than this and you start getting into slums. I feel safe enough there to go by myself at night, but not by much.  I'm ready to purchase my third property, but my business partner and I are having a small disagreement.  I want to spend a little more capital and get a house in the next higher up neighborhood.  My fear is that if the neighborhood starts to go downhill, all of our houses are there.  And its the most likely neighborhood to go downhill in town, since its one of the oldest.  Our town is not a like a large city, there's so much empty land people just build more houses (and pretty cheaply) if they can't find something up to date in town (out of town and in town are only 10 minutes apart).  My partner feels this is not a significant enough risk to merit looking elsewhere.  Adding to the issue is the fact that, at the moment, there are NO houses that meet our criteria on the market in the other neighborhood, but our current neighborhood has several!  I know that, logically, the reasons I invested in this neighborhood in the first place are still valid.  But I feel that it's kinda like buying stocks.  Just because you like a certain stock, doesn't mean your ENTIRE portfolio is invested in it.....

Thoughts?

sammybiker

• Pencil Stache
Re: Eggs in One Basket
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2014, 04:50:12 PM »
How much longer until you can work without this partner?