Author Topic: Duplex woes: How to deal with a bum unit  (Read 10496 times)

Stachetastic

• Pencil Stache
Duplex woes: How to deal with a bum unit
« on: December 04, 2014, 10:45:33 AM »
First of all, "Bum Unit" makes me chuckle, so there you go. 

I purchased an up/down duplex in 2006 when I was single and looking to live in half and have the other half pay my mortgage. That worked well, especially when my sibling rented the other half. We have both since moved on and started families, so I have been renting out both units for the past several years. The downstairs unit has been great...little to no maintenance issues, new tenants beating down my door before I can even advertise its availability. All good.

The upstairs unit, however, has been a thorn in my side. I cannot attract and/or keep good tenants. It seems like people in my area who are willing to live in an upstairs unit are immature/incapable of budgeting/and have caused quite a bit of damage. IT has only been rented out maybe 4 months this whole year, and it has been a nightmare. We have even considered turning it back into a single family dwelling, but the PITI is a bit high to allow for any cash flow. Here are the stats:

Purchase price: 73k
PITI: 650
Mortgage balance: 60k (6.5%)

Utilities I pay:
gas:88/mo (on budget)
water: 50-80/mo
trash/sewer: 50/mo

Rental income:
Downstairs: 600/mo
Upstairs: 550/mo

SO and I have also discussed selling, but the market in our town has not rebounded much, particularly in regards to multi family properties. I don't mind being a landlord, and would like to add more single family units to our portfolio (we own one SF rental now). We just don't know how this duplex fits into all that.  Also, for what it's worth, our only non-mortgage debt is about 19k in student loans, which will be paid off in early 2015. Thanks for any insight!

Edit: I guess I should get to my point: Should we focus on attracting better tenants (how??) Sell?