Author Topic: Down Payment Assistance Programs - Atlanta, GA  (Read 2817 times)

FrugalFisherman10

• Bristles
    • Fly Fishing Photo Project
Down Payment Assistance Programs - Atlanta, GA
« on: February 02, 2015, 03:15:47 PM »
I live in the great state of Georgia and am interested in buying a home, eventually. Not really sure when, because it takes so long to save up for a down payment. I recently realized there's all these programs for assistance with your down payment, especially for first-time home buyers... sometimes these even come in the form of a grant. A "grant" sounds like free money to me, but understandably there are going to be considerable restrictions.

I'm new to discovering these, so I haven't gotten a lot of research in yet, but I would like information/opinions from you guys as the intelligent and un-biased community that you are. I found this website downpaymentresource.com which seems pretty awesome. My main concern with reaching out to real people and resources is that they will be giving me one-sided and beneficial-to-them information (i.e., "yeah of course it's a great time to buy even with what little cash you have! Here, for a small fee let me get you set up with this xxxx-type of loan-pre-approval/home search analysis etc.")

Questions:
At what point in your financial life did you say "OK, I think I should go get pre-approved for a loan to buy a house"?
Slightly different question: At what point in my financial life would you recommend saying "OK, I think I should go get pre-approved for a loan to buy a house?"
How should the timing of the "loan shopping" correspond with the time frame you actually buy a house?
Can a down payment assistance type program be mustachian?
Can someone just explain from a candid point-of-view what all this down payment assistance and HUD stuff is about (or point me to a good resource I can read it myself)?