Author Topic: Does Landlording have to be this complicated?  (Read 6177 times)

Louisville

• Pencil Stache
Does Landlording have to be this complicated?
« on: September 24, 2015, 11:17:11 AM »
 I have no real estate experience of any kind other than buying my own houses (with agents).

I'm reading "Bulding Wealth One House at a Time" by Schaub. Although it's really poorly written, it's informative, and it has me thinking about a lot of things.
In the book, Schaub spends a lot of time on alternative/creative financing, finding bargain prices via non-standard channels, negotiating tricks, lease options, etc.
Is all of this really necessary to get started owning and renting houses? I understand that I'd want to do things as efficiently as possible, and that all of these little ins and outs are going to help, BUT is it not possible that I can be a successful landlord just buying a house the "regular" way like most other schlubs?

iamlindoro

• Handlebar Stache
    • The Earth Awaits
Re: Does Landlording have to be this complicated?
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2015, 11:33:15 AM »
No, it is not all really necessary.  It is possible, in the right market and under the right conditions, to purchase a property at or near retail, finance it traditionally, and get excellent cash flow.  It requires that you be selective and flexible, but it's possible.  Being willing to finance non-traditionally, pursue distressed or off-market properties (or other means of getting properties for less than retail), and other tricks discussed in REI books will make more properties potentially viable, or make already-viable properties more profitable.  You just have to recognize that you are trading your time and effort for those gains.

Ricky

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2015, 11:43:49 AM »