Author Topic: Does anyone own a trailer park?  (Read 7298 times)

Zoe

• Bristles
Does anyone own a trailer park?
« on: February 09, 2014, 07:58:36 AM »
Pros? Cons? Horror stories?

I figure if everything is paid for in cash, then you have a pretty good stream of income every month.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Does anyone own a trailer park?
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2014, 09:43:18 AM »
That's a fuckin job.

The personalities you'll be dealing with...

Best case scenario you do one targeted at the 55 and up crowd, but still.

You ever evicted a mobile home?  ;)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Zoe

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2014, 10:09:35 AM »
Lmao.

What if I own all the trailers? And have super duper awesome screenings for the tenants?

I know when you hear "trailer park" you see "white trash, cars on blocks, etc". I'd like to imagine mine would be a little more classy (haha!).

AlexK

• Bristles
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2014, 10:40:01 AM »
I was looking at one for sale about a month back. On paper it looked pretty good. In person it looked terrible. I had a long conversation with the manager and that made it clearly a bad investment. She told me the tenants don't pay their electric bill and they can't be evicted for that, the park has to pay and the bill was 8k in December. My favorite quote from her was "you wouldn't buy this place to make a profit, you'd do it because you like helping people".

Also MH parks are having a hard time because of dodd-frank. It is now a complicated and expensive proposition to finance a mobile home. Usually the people living there don't have the cash to buy outright.