Author Topic: do you have a business account for your rental?  (Read 5584 times)

Guizmo

• Bristles
do you have a business account for your rental?
« on: February 08, 2014, 10:23:55 AM »
Hello everyone,

I don't have an LLC on my rental condo. Currently, I use my personal banking accounts to do all my transactions for the condo. Should I be opening up a separate business account? Can I do that without having a company/LLC? Is it fine to use my personal accounts?

Thanks!

parkette

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: do you have a business account for your rental?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2014, 11:52:32 AM »
This is something I keep wondering as well!

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2014, 12:49:42 PM »
I would do the transactions in a separate account, even if you don't have an LLC (and if you do, obviously have an account set up in that LLC's name).
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

randymarsh

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2014, 02:37:45 PM »
Definitely a separate account. Makes paper work much easier. And if you ever do go the LLC route, it strengthens the corporate veil.

FastStache

• Bristles
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2014, 03:19:57 PM »
Is it better to operate rentals under an LLC? Any good websites with a side by side comparison?

Fireman

• Bristles
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2014, 03:27:03 PM »