Author Topic: Do I have to set up natural gas?  (Read 1258 times)

ana-stache-ia

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Do I have to set up natural gas?
« on: September 28, 2020, 09:44:05 PM »
Hello,

It's my first time buying a house! I'm just setting up utilities and have this basic question that I can't find the answer to online. Do I have to set up natural gas? My appliances are electric. I'd prefer to save the money and worry less about gas leaks. I can't tell if it's the type of utility that everyone needs to pay into to keep it running?

Thank you!

secondcor521

• Walrus Stache
  • Big cattle, no hat.
    • Age of Eon - Overwatch player videos
Re: Do I have to set up natural gas?
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2020, 10:16:42 PM »
Around here, natural gas is used in the central furnace for most homes.  People also like to pipe it around to their back patios and hook up their propane barbecues so they don't have to mess with propane tanks.  Some people also run the line into their kitchen for their gas stoves.  In all cases it's a utility that is run down the center of the street and pipes are run to the side of people's garages, where there is a natural gas meter.

If your house doesn't use natural gas, then it's probably not even connected to the main natural gas lines in the street, and there would be no need to set it up.  If you don't want to use natural gas, then you wouldn't have to "pay into it"...at least not around here.

Does your house have a natural gas meter?  How does your house provide heat?  There are electric heat pumps that are used elsewhere in the country, but they're not popular around here.

Paper Chaser

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2020, 02:58:41 AM »