Author Topic: Considering being a landlord...first time  (Read 2476 times)

jeromedawg

• Walrus Stache
Considering being a landlord...first time
« on: July 31, 2019, 10:22:15 PM »
Hey all,

We are planning to move out of our current place (co-owned with my parents who live elsewhere) by year end and I have no prior experience renting to tenants. Initially, it's overwhelming trying to think of everything that would need to be done to get the ball rolling. But one thing I'm curious about is if you guys think using your realtor to help with finding a tenant is a good move versus trying to DIY it, especially if you've never done something like this before. Or if you think just going with property management would be a better thing to do. We will be moving to an area that's about half an hour south of where we're at now, so I'm thinking property management probably isn't necessary. My realtor, who is a good friend of ours and has been helping us in a prior home search, also helps fill rental units as well and said he charges $800 for complete service (which I believe includes getting the listing up, background checks, reference checks, credit score checks, the contract, etc)