Author Topic: Complete, 100% Newbie at Real Estate Investing  (Read 2243 times)

Richie

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Complete, 100% Newbie at Real Estate Investing
« on: February 20, 2019, 06:59:26 PM »
Greetings,

We are considering investing in a rental property.  TBH, we are kind of overwhelmed with where to start.  Where does a complete newbie start?  I ordered some of the books in the pinned topics.  Anything else I should do or think about?

turtlefire

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Complete, 100% Newbie at Real Estate Investing
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2019, 05:59:33 PM »
Something that helped me was becoming involved in the bigger pockets forum, and reading as much information about certain topics you're unsure about. Another bit of advice would be to get in contact with a local investment group.

Jon Bon

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2019, 10:29:13 AM »
Depends what you want to do. Whats your dream scenario here and we can try and help you.

BP is ok place to start. There are some good folks on there but there are a TON of scammy get rich quick people on there as well.  I kind of liked some of their early podcasts where they interviewed a lot of different kinds of investors. Some appealed to me and some sounded terrible.  Also and more importantly real estate is intensely local. Some of the tactics listed on BP are straight up illegal in different parts of the country.

A few questions to answer for yourself:

Acquisition Strategy?
Local or Long Distance?
Turnkey or Renovation?
Self Manage or PM?
Single, Double, Quad, etc?
A,B,C Neighborhood?
DIY chops?
Subcontractor Rolodex?

and so on.

waltworks

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2019, 12:27:54 PM »