Author Topic: Commercial Real Estate Advice  (Read 2528 times)

Snowboard junkie

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Commercial Real Estate Advice
« on: February 16, 2013, 09:53:40 AM »
Hi everyone,

I have recently been offered a deal regarding a piece of commercial real estate.  I am not experienced in this area, so I'm asking for general comments and advice - anything, even an internet link to a relevant site may be helpful.

As a bit of background:  I have residential properties that I rent - 1 is leased, another is a vacation property I rent out when I'm not using it.  I have had rental real estate of one form or another for 8 or 9 years.  So I am not a real estate newbie, but I am not experienced in this area either.

The deal is:  950k for the property.  income is 64k/ year triple net.  Renters seem fairly stable for the most part.  Leases are staggered over the next 4 years.  I can borrow 650k at 4.25%.  (If I borrow more, interest rates go up)

So, my questions are:
1. what are the differences in commercial and residential renting?
    at first glance, managing a commercial property seems easier, and arguably more profitable.
2. any potential pitfalls I should actively avoid?  (and how?)
3. Has anyone here done this before who can share their experience?

KingCoin

• Pencil Stache
  • Achieved FI @ 30
Re: Commercial Real Estate Advice
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2013, 11:23:04 AM »
This was posted about a week ago on BiggerPockets:
http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2013/02/04/triple-net-lease-nnn/
I suspect there are many more relevant resources available if you poke around on the website.

It's my understanding that commercial properties have a much higher risk of extended vacancies vs residential properties, so tenant evaluation becomes especially crucial.

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2013, 06:15:35 PM »
Multi-tenant commercial/industrial properties are different than houses.

What type of property and where is it located?