Author Topic: Classic question: Rent or Sell  (Read 2723 times)

Nilbog

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Classic question: Rent or Sell
« on: March 14, 2013, 10:24:09 PM »
Hey Mustachers-

Long time lurker, first time poster.

Not a unique question but one that I've been stressing about for a few months that I'm hoping you can help with.

Stats:
Paid 220k for it in 2007 (not really relevant anymore.  We were living in it for a few years))

Currently owe: 120k
Current value (per Zillow): 140k

Rent Revenue:
Current rent 950/mo (Could potentially rent as high as 1100 but we are renting to people who take care of it and we know so we are willing to discount)

Expenses:
600 in interest per month
300 in HOA
200/month to insurance, prop tax

Obviously, at the moment, it is a money loser both from a cashflow perspective as well from a profitability perspective.  The question is, keep renting with a refinance? Or sell?

If we refinanced, that would cost 1 or 2k but would drop the interest cost down to $450, so basically we would then be breaking even (except for non-scheduled costs including a $500 move-in/out per renter fee).

So yeah, any reason to keep this place or am I just silly for holding on to it?

Very much appreciate any input!

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
Re: Classic question: Rent or Sell
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2013, 05:25:58 AM »
First off, you should determine market rent.  Is it $1,100?  Or is that a number you see advertised but can't really prove that is what your property is worth? 

Second, Zillow estimates of value are worthless.  Often they are off by 30 percent or more.  If this is a house in a tract neighborhood or a condo in a large project, comparable sales should be easy to find.  Call the agent that sold you the property or another agent that actively lists and sells homes in the neighborhood.  Get current comparable sales and rental information.