Author Topic: Child in Dental School - Rent or Buy???  (Read 5024 times)

newton

• Stubble
Child in Dental School - Rent or Buy???
« on: November 26, 2016, 03:53:12 PM »
Fellow Mustachians - I need your thoughts.

My child is currently in their first year of dental school and will be there for at least 4 years.  I am considering purchasing a condo rather than renting.  I have no experience with rentals and currently own my home (paid for).

Here are the approximates:

Renting - Almost $1K month after all "extras" (utilities, cable, internet, etc.)
Purchase - $130K, payment would be $800 a month on a 15 year, plus $170 a month for homeowners association.  Water, sewer, garbage, common area maintenance is included.

She will for sure be living in the area for 3 years and possibly two more after that.  So I'm looking at $36K in rent over the next 3 years for sure.  I have friends who have kids that will be attending the school over the next 10 years so I have options to rent to people I know and trust for a few years after she is done. 

1.  Does it make sense to look at purchasing rather than renting?
2.  What tax issues do I need to think about? 
3.  Should I establish an LLC?

If there are other posts that you know of related to the above, please share.

I appreciate any and all advice and suggestions. 

cincystache

• Bristles
Re: Child in Dental School - Rent or Buy???
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2016, 04:09:39 PM »
I'm not well versed in real estate but that is very kind of you to pay for your daughter's housing. Could she find a fellow dental classmate and split a 2BR for $700 each instead? The way you lay out the options, it sounds like you want to buy and you're looking for validation. I'm sure you'd be fine in either scenario but the flexibility of renting is under rated.