Author Topic: Case Study : Sell or Continue to Rent this house?  (Read 3666 times)

Lowerbills

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Case Study : Sell or Continue to Rent this house?
« on: June 16, 2015, 12:05:47 PM »
Long post, I'll apologize in advance :)

For reasons I'll explain below, I've been dead set on selling this house next Spring, but have started to reconsider.  I appreciate your comments!  I considered selling my previous primary residence in 2013, but decided to rent it instead.  Been rented since Jan 2014 to great tenants!  Lease runs through Spring 2016.

Current Market Value ~ $375k-$395k
Original Purchase Price = $250,000, with $25,000 cash at closing.  About $30k in remodeling since.
Interest Rate = 2.49%
Mortgage Terms : 5/1 ARM, fixed @ 2.49% until early 2017, initiated in 2012.
Amount Remaining on Mortgage = $184K
Equity = ($375k-$184k - closing costs and fees ) = approx $170K? **I am a licensed real estate agent, can save a little there).

Gross Rents = $2,100
Principal and Interest payment of $790 / month
Taxes and Insurance = $600 / month (Property taxes high in Texas, but no state income tax

No HOA

House has a pool, pretty much the main reason I want to sell it.  Pool maintenance averages about $200 / month which I "pay", but priced into the rent.

Numbers:

Cash flow of about $400-$450 per month. (roughly $5k year)
Principal Payments of about $5k / year
Straight line depreciation of $7,300, which leaves me with only paying taxes on about $1,500 each year.

Kicker - Appreciation*** been pretty solid in this neighborhood and city as a whole.  When I considered selling in late 2013, market value was approx $330k-$340k.

Cash flow alone based on the equity if sold looks paltry if you consider $5k income / $170k equity = 3%
But then I figure about another 3% in principal paydown...
And another 4-5% in appreciation (I know I can't count on this, but our market is scorching right now with multiple offers, low inventory and homes selling for over list price).