Author Topic: Can we please talk about insurance on a rental property?  (Read 2011 times)

Paper Chaser

• Handlebar Stache
Can we please talk about insurance on a rental property?
« on: January 28, 2020, 08:00:31 AM »
I'm a real estate novice. I've been reading a lot here in recent months, and have been keeping a close eye on my local market for a few years now, just observing and trying to get a good feel for it. I can't usually make the numbers work for most of what I see these days (even in my LCOL area), but every once in awhile I see a property listed where the numbers seem to work for a rental. I'm good with the 1% and 50% rules. I'm relatively handy and feel like I can estimate what a property needs, what I might be able to fix, and what would need to be handled by someone else, so I think I know what my upfront costs might be in most cases as well as long term CapEx stuff.

The one area where I'm having trouble estimating my costs is insurance. Hence this discussion. How much should I expect to pay monthly to insure a rental. I'm looking at SFHs as well as some smaller multi family stuff like triplexes.

How much, and what kind do you carry? I realize this might vary a ton depending on property values, so maybe we consider it in terms of % of property value or something? I see some calculators and estimating tools default to $1000/yr for a place in the $100-150k ballpark (LCOL area). That seems low to me, but my only reference is my homeowner's insurance on my personal home, which is valued several times what some of the rental properties I'm considering are valued. Seems like a reasonable umbrella policy can probably be had for under $500 annually right? What advantages/drawbacks are there when going that route over another type of insurance?

cchrissyy

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Can we please talk about insurance on a rental property?
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2020, 10:19:14 AM »