Author Topic: Better To Own Than Rent?  (Read 3396 times)

Dicey

• Senior Mustachian
Better To Own Than Rent?
« on: November 09, 2016, 01:04:08 PM »
This story scares the shit out of my inner bag lady. It underscores the advantages of owning, not renting. It also explains why I favor investing before prepaying the low-interest mortgage.

http://www.mercurynews.com/2016/11/08/on-the-thin-line-between-prosperity-and-homelessness

Cassie

• Walrus Stache
Re: Better To Own Than Rent?
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2016, 01:11:28 PM »
That was really sad. I prefer to own for a variety of reasons.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2016, 04:35:45 AM »
If you're tied to that one location, and will be forever, sure, there are good arguments for owning.

In her situation, I'd just... move.  Obviously some people don't want to do that, and owning is never feasible for them.  They're in a tough situation.  =/
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Metric Mouse

• Walrus Stache
  • FU @ 22. F.I.R.E before 23
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2016, 05:06:30 AM »
This story scares the shit out of my inner bag lady. It underscores the advantages of owning, not renting. It also explains why I favor investing before prepaying the low-interest mortgage.

http://www.mercurynews.com/2016/11/08/on-the-thin-line-between-prosperity-and-homelessness

Sad. I wonder if she could have ran her consulting business out of another lcol area.

calimom

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2016, 09:05:35 AM »
If you're tied to that one location, and will be forever, sure, there are good arguments for owning.