Author Topic: Baby 'Stache in Expensive City (Rental Eval/ Halp!)  (Read 2082 times)

Thisironiclife

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Baby 'Stache in Expensive City (Rental Eval/ Halp!)
« on: August 31, 2018, 12:21:13 PM »
So I'm in a bit of pickle. I live and have a pet related business business in Oakland (ie: everything is crazy expensive). I've had a killer rental deal for the past 9 years so I make this work, but recently the landlord has upped their harassment and is insisting I pay $2500 for a bathroom remodel (rotting wall due to water damage due to incorrect original installation as opposed to my negligence.). I have been fighting it for six months while I get harassing emails, contractors stop by without notice, and mold and ants have gotten out of control. My rent is 25% market value and I believe they want me out. I was told by several lawyers I could sue. I am trying to run numbers with a lot of variables and struggling to not let the stress of Bay Area housing get the best of me.

Option 1: I stay in my rental. $850/ month for a three bedroom where I can use the space to run a portion of my dog training business (one service I offer is boarding and training aggressive dogs). I may lose unit unexpectedly if I don't move since the landlords have really recently stepped up the harassment. Meanwhile I cannot find a rental in this area that will allow dogs and my business is growing so I am more and more dependent on the part of the income that comes from having dogs around.

Option 2: I buy a fixer. My family flipped properties my whole life so I am moderately experienced in finishing work but this would be my first personal project. I have been looking for about 4 years and most things don't make sense in this area given the numbers, so previously I was going to invest out of state.