Author Topic: Anyone own Farm land?  (Read 4314 times)

Seeking the Brass Ring

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Anyone own Farm land?
« on: November 13, 2014, 05:27:17 AM »
I'm interested in finding more information about renting farm land.  It seems like this could be a good option for long distance landlording since there's really no upkeep necessary with renting an empty field.  I do have questions about how to find renters, how to gauge market rent, how the deals are structured etc.

Bobberth

• Bristles
Re: Anyone own Farm land?
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2014, 01:07:06 PM »
I am no expert, nor have I done this, but I am originally from Kansas and I have heard about some farmland rental agreements.  If you have grazing land, it is what you usually associate with renting with $X/year/acre.  If you have crop land, usually you do something the farmers call "shares".  The shares that I heard of were 2/3 & 1/3.  That means the farmer that did the farming put up 2/3 of the expenses, farmed the land and harvested-all of the work.  The person that owned the land would put up 1/3 of the expenses and allow the farmer to work their land.  Then as the harvest came in, the farmer owned 2/3 of the crop and the land owner owned 1/3 of it.  It's possible that there could be other ways to set up a farmland rental agreement but I would imagine that most would include some type of 'sharing' as the value of farmland comes from it's productivity and a farmer may have an issue with paying a set amount in rent in case there is a bad year (unless the set amount was really low).  Since farming is such a local thing, it will mostly be driven by local customs.

Gone Fishing

• Magnum Stache
  • So Close went fishing on April 1, 2016
    • Journal
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2014, 02:43:47 PM »