Author Topic: Am I Crazy For Considering This Rental?  (Read 2412 times)

2Birds1Stone

• Walrus Stache
  • K Thnx Bye
Am I Crazy For Considering This Rental?
« on: January 13, 2016, 09:56:33 AM »
I have a coworker who is selling a "Tiny House".

It is 400 square feet on a 4,500 square foot lot.

Newly built in 2012, new SS appliances, new washer drier, new heating/electric, electric fireplace, patio, fire pit, 2 storage sheds, 2 car driveway.

The neighborhood is decent, 3 schools with 6-8/10 rating on Zillow.

7 miles from a large SUNY University (NYS).

Asking price is $45,000

Taxes assessed in 2014 @ $1,800/yr.

I am considering purchasing and renting to a student/couple. I am confident that I can fetch $500-600/month in rent.

My biggest concern is that I am located ~4.5 hours away. Otherwise I would jump on this pretty quickly.

Any advice/tips/concerns?

COMPLETE RE Investing noob here.

zephyr911

• Magnum Stache
  • I'm just happy to be here. \m/ ^_^ \m/
    • Pinhook Development LLC
Re: Am I Crazy For Considering This Rental?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2016, 10:10:28 AM »
It could be a good one, especially if you can get $600, but make sure you're questioning all your assumptions - what data points are you using for your rental estimate? Is the tax bill based on a homestead exemption that you won't get? Really need to get a full picture of all costs. Brand new, maintenance could be pretty minimal, but eventually things will start breaking. It all adds up.

4.5 hours away is far enough to need paid management, especially if you're a first-timer. It'd be wise to talk to some management companies up there - don't just ask for rates, ask if they will help you evaluate this potential buy in exchange for hiring them to manage it. Some will do that.