Author Topic: Advice for First Time Homebuyer  (Read 2421 times)

PrettyCoolWorkshop

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice for First Time Homebuyer
« on: August 23, 2016, 09:21:20 AM »
Hey guys, I'm here to seek feedback regarding me potentially purchasing a home, at the same time as I'm moving to a new job.  If any of you also frequent the bogleheads.org forum, I've posted there as well...

I graduated college in December 2012 at age 22 with $30k saved up, I was already an agressive saver from summer jobs as a teenager and engineering internships (gratefully my parents covered living expenses during college).  I'm a mechanical engineer.  I've continued saving since, maintaining a savings rate >50% while having salary in the range of $60k to $69.2k.  My total montly expenses since graduating have averaged $1450, with $525 of that being rent.  I've worked at 2 different companies since graduating, and have now gotten a job offer at a company in the city I want to live in long term.  I will be able to finally move my girlfriend in with me. we've been in a long-distance relationship for 3 yrs, she's in the city I'm moving to, finishing a Computer Science degree.  I have somewhat of an idea that I would like to be able to retire early... maybe as early as the age of 33.

It is a 3 bedroom townhouse, currently listed for sale at $218k.  HOA fee is $155 per month, property tax rate is 1.018%.  I've been pre-qualified for a 15-year mortgate at 2.75%.  If I buy it, I intend to rent out the 2 spare bedrooms.  One tenant is my friend who is a graduate student (currently 1 year into a PhD), and the other is my girlfriend's brother, who is on disability.  Both seem like stable tenants that are interested in staying for multiple years, I would charge $380 rent each.

To give some more information and flesh things out a bit: