Author Topic: Advantages to buying house with cash  (Read 9384 times)

jimsmith

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advantages to buying house with cash
« on: October 07, 2016, 05:00:06 PM »
Is the main advantage to buying a house with cash the fact that you can pounce immediately with a cash offer, possibly under the asking price?

I assume a seller would find the certainty of cash in hand appealing enough that a buyer would have more bargaining power than typical--is that correct?

I'm totally new to this; wondering if there are any "gotchas" etc to paying cash--

sunshine

• Stubble
Re: Advantages to buying house with cash
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2016, 05:07:35 PM »
It certainly can work that way from my experience. We have bought 3 in the last 4 years cash. I guess it depends on the seller.

ender

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2016, 06:06:30 PM »
A large advantage to paying with cash is the seller, who probably needs the money in order to buy another house, knows that the sale will not fall through due to financing, etc, and that you can move quickly.

If for example someone makes an offer with 0% down, while they might be preapproved it's far more likely their mortgage application will take a while and/or not work than someone paying 100% down.

Consider that if you sell your house and make an offer on another home, but the sale of your home falls through because of mortgage issues. A non-insignificant percentage of mortgage applications get rejected and as a seller you probably can't know in advance who those will be. Higher percentages down likely decrease this likelihood, though, which makes higher % payments more attractive.

Common sense

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2016, 09:51:26 PM »
If it's for your primary residence, being mortgage free and the psychologic happiness that brings, is also another advantage.

Little Aussie Battler

• Stubble
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2016, 09:54:34 PM »