Author Topic: AC unit at rental property is dead - replace or do something else?  (Read 3653 times)

Zoot Allures

• Stubble
AC unit at rental property is dead - replace or do something else?
« on: September 02, 2014, 12:27:13 PM »
I own a single family home here in Portland that I've been renting out for a few years. (I used to live in it.)

Central AC is not common in Portland, but this house came with it when I bought it 11 years ago. My Floridian tenants have been using the AC heavily, I think, and perhaps they loved it to death. But the unit was also just old, and now it's completely fried.

My preference would be not to replace it. I'd rather pay to have the home better insulated (it was built in 1946), perhaps taking advantage of some clean energy rebates, and perhaps offer to buy a window AC unit for my tenants. I'm a bit nervous because they're great tenants and I want them to stay, and I was also planning to raise their rent (for the first time) when their lease is up. I'm a bit concerned about how this change would play out. AC was part of the package when they signed their first lease with me.

Thoughts? How might I balance my short-term needs with my long-term priorities in terms of my pocketbook and what's best for the house (not to mention the planet)?

rocksinmyhead

• Handlebar Stache
Re: AC unit at rental property is dead - replace or do something else?
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2014, 12:37:18 PM »
can't really give any advice from the landlord side of things (though I totally see your point/dilemma), but hoo boy I'd be pissed if my landlord raised the rent on me AND didn't fix the AC. as in, I'd move if I didn't have other serious reasons for loving the place/had decent other options.

Gone Fishing

• Magnum Stache
  • So Close went fishing on April 1, 2016
    • Journal
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2014, 01:39:38 PM »