Author Topic: Raw Land Purchase Price Rubric?  (Read 1269 times)

Askel

• Pencil Stache
Raw Land Purchase Price Rubric?
« on: February 17, 2019, 05:41:16 PM »
My wife and I are considering building a home sometime in the near future and I'm shopping land right now.  Since we're looking for something with some acreage and yet fairly close to town, I find the prices vary wildly beyond the $x/acre+timber value that gets applied further out from town. Many of these parcels are FSBO and I suspect the prices are chosen somewhat arbitrarily. 

Being an ex-college teacher, I'm keen to apply a rubric for assigning a consistent value from my perspective to parcels that I see for sale.

Anybody done this before? 

Besides the outright financial considerations of taxes, building site prep, etc- there are also things that I'd like to try and include in a valuation such as recreational opportunities included outright or nearby, proximity to neighbors, etc.  Since we intend to live in this house until we die- we're primarily interested in considering a property in absolute terms of it's value to us, not relative to any future resale value.

If you have a rubric you'd be willing to share or any of the factors you considered in such, I'd appreciate it. 

Michael in ABQ

• Magnum Stache
Re: Raw Land Purchase Price Rubric?
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2019, 06:27:53 AM »