Author Topic: 1 stage or 2 stage refinance?  (Read 1642 times)

wgrdle

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
1 stage or 2 stage refinance?
« on: April 11, 2019, 09:03:36 PM »
I want to do a cash out refinance and was wondering if I should it it two stages. Goal is to pull out as much cash as possible to use towards next deal. I’m located in California.

-Credit score is around 625.  It’s low due to high utilization (>50%) of available credit, otherwise on time payments and no derogatory marks.

-Consumer credit card debt $100k. Credit card limits is ~$200k, so 50% utilization.

-Bought a multi-unit property in 2015, live in one unit, and did major renovations funded in part with credit cards.

-I’ve been doing Airbnb on the remaining units for the last 3 years when they weren’t being renovated.  They now pull in approximately $80k in revenue per year. Airbnb provides revenues statements (I have access to all 3 years). I paid taxes on the income and they tracks losses / expenditures as well from remodeling.

-Work full-time at W2 job, ~$150k annual income.

-Currently owe $600k on mortgage, 4.00% interest rate on 30 yr fixed.

-Have large higher education debt $400k, currently paying on Income Based Repayment (IBR) about $800/month.

-Estimated property worth $1.8mil.

-I’d like find a lender who can work with Airbnb income AND IBR. Any recommendations?

Should I:

1) 2 stage:  take out a HELOC loan now to pay all credit card debt off.  Then do full refinance with cash out soon after.  I’m hoping my credit score will improve after paying the credit card debt off so I can get a lower interest rate.  Should I pay off the heloc at that point since refinance interest rate is lower? How long it will take my score to go up? Will it go up by a lot or is the mortgage & student loan going to keep it down?

2) 1 stage:  do a full refinance with cash out right now with my 625 credit score.

3) something else?

Thanks in advance.

ilsy

• Stubble
Re: 1 stage or 2 stage refinance?