Author Topic: What books have changed your life?  (Read 207461 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: What books have changed your life?
« Reply #50 on: February 28, 2016, 01:09:56 AM »

10 years ago, I would have included Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance which I read around the same time as I read Chaos. But, I'm struggling to remember any of it now. I suspect I've replaced whatever concepts I gleaned from it with new and more evolved thinking.

Or you've internalized them so much you now think they're part of you and no longer associate them with the book?

It's mostly ideas about the word quality.

Either way, if you would have rated it that highly, it's probably worth rereading a decade later, to see what (if anything) you get out of it now.  :)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

andystkilda

• Stubble
« Reply #51 on: February 28, 2016, 05:05:37 PM »
Not to do with finance at all but is somewhat in the vein of worrying less and living a happier life while parenting:
Selfish Reasons to Have More Kids: Why Being a Great Parent is Less Work and More Fun Than You Think by Bryan Caplan

I highly recommend it to all expecting or current parents, and as a gift to friends/family with young kids who seem a bit too stressed for their own good.

solon

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #52 on: February 28, 2016, 06:32:56 PM »
Not to do with finance at all but is somewhat in the vein of worrying less and living a happier life while parenting:
Selfish Reasons to Have More Kids: Why Being a Great Parent is Less Work and More Fun Than You Think by Bryan Caplan