Author Topic: The Impoverished Students' Book of Cookery, Drinkery & Housekeepery  (Read 4888 times)

foggyzhenya

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • New to MMM and feeling inspired
Good evening,

I am quite new to Mustachianism and still far from successfully implementing its precepts, but I was browsing a cookbook I've had for a long time (though not for as long as it's been in the world - it was published in the 1960s), titled "The Impoverished Students' Book of Cookery, Drinkery & Housekeepery", published by a young philosopher shortly after graduating from Reed College.

A classmate of his had kept the cookbook, and 30 years her son taught me to cook a couple of the casseroles when I was still in college. I've been cooking there super simple, cheap and tasty dishes for almost 20 years.

But in addition to recommending the book, I was struck by the parallels between the observations the youthful author included in the commentary and MMM (both are funny and thoughtful), and this one in particular should resonate with this crowd:

"It is important to distinguish between the merely Impoverished Student and the really Impoverished Student. The really Impoverished Student is poor! [...] the really Impoverished Student cannot afford to buy a cookbook.

"The merely Impoverished Student, for whom this work is intended, on the other hand, need not be poor. One of the finest Impoverished Students it has been my pleasure to meet is a young lady worth roughly $10 million dollars but the only way one could come to know that is by being told. Impoverished studenthood is primarily a state of mind."

There's lots more wisdom in it, and also a few good recipes:
https://www.reed.edu/reed_magazine/spring2008/columns/end_paper/index.html

jeninco

• Magnum Stache
Re: The Impoverished Students' Book of Cookery, Drinkery & Housekeepery
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2018, 04:29:58 PM »