Author Topic: Disrupting telemarketer calls -- new free option available  (Read 3529 times)

Inaya

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Disrupting telemarketer calls -- new free option available
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2016, 07:59:55 AM »
But recently, one of the calls went for 22 minutes. It was from a cable company that called to try to get a customer to sign up for bigger, better, faster cable.

“Whenever you ask the robot a question, it always replies ‘yes,’” Mr. Anderson said. “So it kept signing it up for all the sports packages and high-speed services that the cable telemarketer offered.”

I love the idea, but this would make me incredibly hesitant to use it. Stop paying attention for 2 minutes and suddenly you've sold your soul to Comcast and spend $1500 for the privilege.

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2016, 08:22:10 AM »
I worked as a telemarketer for a while as one of a string of jobs to pay for university.  It was a low wage job that paid commissions on top of the wage.  If we didn't have a certain number of sales after four hours, we got sent home.

You're just hurting the little guy, not really doing anything to stop telemarketing with this device.

MandalayVA

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2016, 08:31:04 AM »
Here's a novel way to avoid telemarketers:

Don't recognize the phone number?

DON'T ANSWER THE PHONE.

The ringing of the phone is not a holy command that must be obeyed at all costs.  I haven't talked to a telemarketer in decades.

Inaya

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2016, 08:35:57 AM »
I worked as a telemarketer for a while as one of a string of jobs to pay for university.  It was a low wage job that paid commissions on top of the wage.  If we didn't have a certain number of sales after four hours, we got sent home.

You're just hurting the little guy, not really doing anything to stop telemarketing with this device.