Author Topic: Coursera?  (Read 5223 times)

mabinogi

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Coursera?
« on: May 09, 2015, 09:28:25 AM »
Has anyone used Coursera to take courses, and used these courses to negotiate yourself into a job or even a career change? I finished a master's degree last spring, but then moved (for my husband's career) to a place where there are few to no job opportunities in my field of study. It's also not a lucrative field, so I've been thinking about trying to move into a more Mustachian career. I'd certainly prefer to do this without any additional paid schooling, so I'm thinking Coursera or something similar might be a good place to start. I'm a SAHM right now, so don't have time for full-time study but could take a course or two at a time. I'm curious to hear other people's thoughts and experiences. And suggestions on careers that are relatively easy to segue into are certainly welcome too. ;)

Goldielocks

• Walrus Stache
Re: Coursera?
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2015, 12:32:31 PM »
I took a Coursera course this year, for personal learning, and recommend it and the time spent highly.   
I have put it onto my resume in the same place that I indicate interests / memberships / volunteer activities.  I also put in my active LinkedIn groups there. 

I am doing this to show my active interest and on-going desire to keep current in my field, but not as course credentialing.  It is a great way to continue a conversation with a recruiter in your field, too.
For me, my professional license is all I need for the minimum qualifications required, so everything else just adds depth and color to the resume experience.

amberfocus

• Stubble
  • Hell hath no fury like a Mustachian with FU money
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2015, 06:47:30 AM »
I adore Coursera and EdX. I was a fairly early adopter of MOOCs, and over the past three years, I have collected 63 certificates (and counting) in a wide variety of topics that interest me (including personal finance).