Author Topic: Amazon Prime Store Card?  (Read 5495 times)

realityinabox

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Amazon Prime Store Card?
« on: September 20, 2015, 06:17:32 AM »
I got a mailer the other day saying I was pre-approved for the Amazon Prime Store Card.  5% back on Amazon.com purchases.  It says it is a statement credit though, and I'm not sure how that works.  I read a few reviews where people said that when they paid the adjusted amount (bill - credit) that they were charged interest on the credited amount. 

Anyone have any experience with this card?  5% sounds nice since I use Amazon a lot, but I'm just starting out on using credit cards for rewards, so I'm a bit of a n00b.

pbkmaine

• Walrus Stache
Re: Amazon Prime Store Card?
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2015, 06:23:04 AM »
I use the credit towards Amazon purchases.

realityinabox

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2015, 06:35:14 AM »
I use the credit towards Amazon purchases.

Does it work more like a gift card balance?  Meaning, if I pay off the CC balance in full every month regardless of the rewards balance, does the rewards balance just get deducted from the cost of future purchases?  Maybe that is where the other person went wrong; thinking of it as a statement reduction when really it is only a credit toward future purchases...?

pbkmaine

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2015, 08:13:35 AM »
Yes, exactly like that.

Anomalous

• Stubble
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2015, 11:57:43 AM »
I have the Amazon Prime Store Card (the one direct from Amazon that can't be used as a regular card, not an Amazon branded one from a bank) and the and the 5% back is deducted from the amount owed. It is not carried over to the next month like a gift card balance. Each month I get a bill for 95% of whatever I spent on Amazon, pay that in full, and have not been charged any interest.

kib

• Stubble
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2015, 12:18:20 PM »