Author Topic: When the world is your oyster, how do you choose?  (Read 4880 times)

Fresh Bread

• Magnum Stache
  • Insert dough/bread/crust joke
When the world is your oyster, how do you choose?
« on: January 31, 2021, 03:51:01 PM »
Hi all,

I'm FI but have kept a little part-time business going (it used to be full-time but I pared it back). It's sort of seasonal work so I have a lot of free time - this week I have nothing at all to do on it except prepare one invoice!

I'm struggling to decide what I should do with all my time. I guess I thought I had some hobbies and plans for retirement but now I have loads of time I can't really be bothered with them and I have been out of the game so long I'm not that good at them anymore eg drawing. I'm doing a lot of reading, but also a lot of pointless scrolling and annoying myself and feel like I should be doing something more worthwhile. I never achieve the state of "flow" that people talk about and I really want to.

It's possible the pandemic has something to do with this feeling (I'm in Australia and yes we are doing well but things feel different).

One key thing I have changed so far is getting up at the same time everyday and having a morning and evening routine so at least the necessary things like the dishes and tidying up get done without it being a big demand on my mental load. Found a great app to help with this. One reason I may let my business go is that it is very irregular and difficult to keep a routine - it's definitely not helped in maintaining other interests and so on. My husband is very much a non-planner and easy-going/ take things as they come kind of guy, but that doesn't work for me so I will end up doing a lot of the planning even though he will do his fair share of the 'doing'. I think that's a typical scenario.