Author Topic: Unsupportive working spouse  (Read 2586 times)

GreenSheep

• Handlebar Stache
Unsupportive working spouse
« on: April 16, 2021, 11:59:48 AM »
What do you say to a working (by choice) spouse who constantly throws your lack of employment back in your face whenever you're pressed for time, stressed about everything that needs to be done around the house to prepare for guests (whom he invited), etc.? It's like he thinks I just sit on my butt all day eating bon-bons. I keep the house clean, I train our puppy, I'm learning a foreign language, and I make delicious food that he chooses not to eat. (That's a whole separate issue. He'd rather reheat crap out of cans than eat my homemade food. And I'm an excellent cook. Everyone else likes what I make.) I DID my time in the employment arena, and I earned the right to stay home and do whatever I want. I choose to remain productive at home, but apparently that's not enough, and I'm never allowed to be stressed out since I don't have a job.

BZB

• Bristles
Re: Unsupportive working spouse
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2021, 12:08:57 PM »
I think you tell him to stop with the resentful attitude, and to go with you to couples' counseling. I recommend a Gottman-trained therapist for this sort of thing.

Metalcat

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2021, 12:20:03 PM »
You could really just change the title of this thread to "Unsupportive Spouse" because the fact that this is about working vs not working is practically irrelevant.

Did you feel completely respected before you left the workforce? Did you feel like your FIRE ambitions were respected? How have the future-planning discussions gone before now? Did you feel fully supported in your priorities?

Where is this disrespect coming from?

Incidentally, I retired and my DH still works, and he would NEVER treat me so disrespectfully because we made the decision for me to retire first together, as a shared priority. Plus, he's not a disrespectful ass.