Author Topic: Tell me what it's like  (Read 11057 times)

HotTubes

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Tell me what it's like
« on: December 01, 2020, 07:53:01 PM »
I'm not quite there, but I can see it on the horizon, maybe 2023.  I've been on 3 forums, reading all I can, saving as much as I can. Learning.

I'm always surprised at those who are bored or who say "you have to have something to retire to" - I guess I just don't get it.  I've been working for 40 years.  I've had bosses and supervisors and commanders and subordinates and processes for 40 years, all in varying degrees.  I've seen the world of work change multiple times.  Currently, with Covid and social media, there is no "off" time, there is only present at the office or not.

I've been fortunate to choose interesting work, but I'm ready to go.  I'm ready to not have a boss and not be a supervisor and not fill out forms and all of that. 

To me, that seems like plenty to retire "to" - the right to do what i want to do and not one thing more.

So what the hell am I forgetting?  What am I misssing?

What's it like?

xbdb

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Tell me what it's like
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2020, 08:44:18 PM »
I'm not quite there, but I can see it on the horizon, maybe 2023.  I've been on 3 forums, reading all I can, saving as much as I can. Learning.

I'm always surprised at those who are bored or who say "you have to have something to retire to" - I guess I just don't get it.  I've been working for 40 years.  I've had bosses and supervisors and commanders and subordinates and processes for 40 years, all in varying degrees.  I've seen the world of work change multiple times.  Currently, with Covid and social media, there is no "off" time, there is only present at the office or not.

I've been fortunate to choose interesting work, but I'm ready to go.  I'm ready to not have a boss and not be a supervisor and not fill out forms and all of that.