Author Topic: Serious "one more year" syndrome - advice appreciated  (Read 121493 times)

Omy

• Handlebar Stache
Serious "one more year" syndrome - advice appreciated
« on: November 12, 2018, 11:15:05 AM »
I've read every MMM article and have lurked at this forum for over a year. I've been mustachian since I was a toddler (I preferred money to candy at age 3 according to my dad.)

DH and I have a mortgage-free rental property that brings in $1850/mo, a mortgage-free principle residence, and another $2.5M in stocks, bonds, CDs and cash. (Update: bought a 2nd rental in May 2019 that brings in $2250/month). We live on $50-60k a year in a HCOL area, but make over $300k. I'm 56, he's 51. I like my job (realtor), he is tired of his (engineering manager). His job pays more and has great benefits. I'm an independent contractor (no benefits.)

When I look at it objectively, I know we are FI. We've been FI for years. But pulling the trigger to RE causes me a lot of anxiety. Especially about health insurance premium costs and no clue where that mess is heading.

I came to you Post Fire experts to ask for advice on how to gain the confidence needed to pull the trigger. I know the math gives us next to zero chance of failure, but anxiety is winning over math.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2019, 06:17:01 AM by Omy »

ysette9

• Walrus Stache
Re: Serious "one more year" syndrome - advice appreciated
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2018, 12:37:31 PM »
I recommend reading Dr Doom’s The Quit Series on his blog LivingaFI.com. He does an amazing job of unpacking his of reluctance to pull the trigger on RE once reaching FI.

chasesfish

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2018, 12:42:37 PM »
I can...fully relate.   I don't have have the asset levels that you do, but I decided to extend my date from 6/30/2018 to March of 2019. 

I've posted some on my site linked below, but it's also good to poke around the 2018 and 2019 retirement threads that are in the general discussion.