Author Topic: Practicalities of living off the 4% SWR  (Read 16226 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Practicalities of living off the 4% SWR
« Reply #50 on: December 01, 2016, 07:53:37 PM »
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

lordmetroid

• Stubble
« Reply #51 on: December 01, 2016, 11:32:59 PM »
Is the 4% withdrawal rate before taxes?
How much of the withdrawn money is lost to taxes?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #52 on: December 02, 2016, 12:00:58 AM »
Is the 4% withdrawal rate before taxes?
How much of the withdrawn money is lost to taxes?
4% should cover all your expenses. Including g taxes.

Some people will have zero taxes. Some a lot of taxes.

That will depend on a lot of things, including the amount you're withdrawing, the source of your funds (Roth versus 401k treated very differently), etc.

Calculate how much you need, total, including taxes (if any), then multiply by 25. This is the amount you need, so that withdrawing 4% covers all your expenses, including any necessary taxes.

Expense ratios should also be included in this. Any and all expenses.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

boarder42

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #53 on: December 02, 2016, 02:55:49 AM »
60/40 bonds split is way to conservative for a 4% SWR you need 80.20 minimum