Author Topic: Post FI - Pay Cut - Tell new employer  (Read 3275 times)

brian313313

• Stubble
Post FI - Pay Cut - Tell new employer
« on: March 27, 2019, 09:22:52 AM »
Hi,

I am post-FI but not quite ready to retire. I want to go back to being a coder for a while without the project management responsibilities. This would be a lower paying, but more enjoyable job. I'm not sure how to explain the pay cut since a lot of people know I make more. I'm active in the local tech community and people know I'm a higher paid consultant. Would it make sense to let potential employers know that I have enough? I just had a phone interview and the concern is that I'll go back for a higher paying job in 6 months. I also don't really want people to know my financial business so I wouldn't be telling everyone but I'm not sure how to handle the situation. There is the flip side that if things get bad then I can just leave freely. Another problem is that people can take advantage of me willing to work for less but still giving me the old responsibilities. I can quit if that happens though.

Thanks.

Bird In Hand

• Pencil Stache
Re: Post FI - Pay Cut - Tell new employer
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2019, 10:38:15 AM »
I'm not sure how to explain the pay cut since a lot of people know I make more.

So if you take a coding job, certain peers will know you will be making less than you currently do in your project management job?  And this is something you feel you need to explain/justify to them?  If that's the case then my advice is to figure out a way to stop caring what they think.  :o  Or maybe just be honest and say that you had enough of project management, and wanted to get back to coding for a while?  I'm having trouble seeing the problem, though I do believe it's a problem for you since you bothered asking for advice about it.