Author Topic: Please Help me get rid of my $800/month Financial Planner!!!!!!!  (Read 9546 times)

JMH221

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Just retired after working 40-years and need to get my (financial) ducks in a row.  I'm currently paying (please don't judge) a Financial Advisor a ridiculous amount of money per year for below average returns.  I'm just starting to learn how to live on a fixed income and would love to hear what all of you recommend as far as how to invest and how to generate a monthly income.  Please let me know what you think and if you can recommend any good books/online resources.  Thank you so much for the help!!!!!!

65 years young

Portfolio:
Traditional IRA Balance  $762,000
Roth IRA Balance  $172,000
Taxable    $378,000 

Pension:
$1,600/month (after taxes)

SS:
$1,000/month until 2020 then $1,600/month

Expenses:
$32,000/year   

Thanks again!         

aj_yooper

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Please Help me get rid of my $800/month Financial Planner!!!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2015, 11:48:35 AM »
No need to be coy, Roy.  Just set yourself free!  ala Paul Simon "Fifty Ways to Leave Your Lover"

Seriously, if it is costing $800 a month, I would lose the planner as soon as I could.  There are many much lower cost advisers available.  You could do Vanguard (@ https://investor.vanguard.com/financial-advisor/financial-advice) for way less and have a CFP who will have your interests first, not his income.

Or, you could contact a reasonable adviser like Rick Ferri, CFP (@ http://www.rickferri.com/about/about-rick) and save a whole lot of fees.

You have done well in building your stache.  Now you need to streamline and focus.  Your current adviser will naturally scream like hell at the loss of your account, but your costs are, to me, atrocious.

Best wishes.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2015, 11:57:25 AM »
You could do worse than taking a few hours (either all at once or spread over a few days) to go through the items below: